I am going to yell at Pat Swayze.

Last weekend I did things like: drink heavily, act obnoxious, eat pot brownies, fall asleep on park benches.  Standard weekend fare.

This weekend was a special one.  I got to make one of my less frequently made bad decisions.  Jumping out of a plane.  This is the stupidest thing any sane human being can do.  I am usually a tense ball of anxiety (but more than usual) the entire day leading up, and this is 100% because PEOPLE SHOULD NOT BE JUMPING OUT OF PLANES!

I’ve been going with a couple of my buddies once a year for three years.  On my first jump one of the girls that was at the airfield asked an instructor; This is completely safe right?

Instructor: NO!  Eating lunch in the park is completely safe.

There is something inherently wrong with this entire process.  One should never be fooled: You are flying up 13,500 ft or so in the air (flying is a miracle), and jumping out.  All there is to save you is a nylon sheet and some strings.  Last time when my instructor pulled the chute he said “Look!  I saved our lives!”.

And he was right.  We were just plummeting toward earth at 120mph.  Terminal Velocity bro.  It’s like my man Pat Swayze says “100% Pure Adrenalin!“.  It is better than any drug (not YOU booze, I love you the mostest, just let me finish writing shit that no one will read, and then we can make out).  The rush is really amazing and, believe it or not it can be a very calming experience.  Up in the sky there is no sound, no cars, trains.  No one is asking me any questions, no phone calls.  And, if I die I don’t gotta go to work the next day.  Who the fuck is ever mad at a day off.

Now if you will excuse me I see someone who needs to be yelled at.

pointbreakint01

11 Responses to I am going to yell at Pat Swayze.

  1. bwp says:

    “And, if I die I don’t gotta go to work the next day. ”

    I think this alone is why I want to go skydiving.

  2. apollocreed says:

    If you want the ultimate, you’ve got to be willing to pay the ultimate price. It’s not tragic to die doing what you love.

  3. deutlich says:

    This is the first time I’ve read something about skydiving that’s actually made me want to try it.

  4. Kyle says:

    You just gotta keep on livin’, man. L-I-V-I-N.

    But seriously, if it makes you happy, don’t stop.

    unless crack is involved, then think about stopping.

  5. Just A Girl says:

    Hey now, I see 4 people (not counting me) who read this. So quit with the snarky talk. Booze can waaaaaaaaait.

    Let’s be friends. I’ve never slept on a park bench.

  6. Southpaw says:

    Well, that settles it, if YOU can jump out of planes, I can too! OK, well, maybe I’ll wait a little longer. I wish I had good friends like you that were willing to risk their lives with me for an adrenaline rush! The BF won’t even ride roller coasters with me…I know…WUSS.

  7. Matt says:

    Booze is my girl.

    Back off.

  8. justjp says:

    Dude, my friends are trying to get me to jump saying “its addictive.” Seeing how I drink, smoke, get tattooed, and participate in other addictive behaviors, I am trying to avoid this one. I can’t wait to do it, but I am broke and will whore myself out for jump money. I already see it.

  9. Greg says:

    Next: drinking some Jack while skydiving?

  10. […] actually take quite a bit of pride in my ability, too. It’s not for the faint-hearted. Sky diving? Please. Try weaving through a crowd of angry commuters (knocking the weak aside if that’s […]

  11. Its like you learn my mind! You appear to grasp a lot about this,
    like you wrote the e book in it or something.
    I feel that you simply can do with some percent to drive the message home a bit, however other than that,
    that is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

Leave a comment